St. John Administrative Building, 1801 West Airline, LaPlace, LA

St. John Parish is governed by a president who carries out the policies adopted by the council, the legislative body of the Parish. The Parish President supervises all Parish operations except for the offices of the Sheriff, Clerk of Court, Assessor, Coroner, District Attorney, and the Public School Board. These agencies are legally separate from the Parish Council.

The council, composed of two council members at large and seven district council members, levies taxes, special assessments, service charges, and license fees.